Biding Time With Dida & Paz

1246312724_extras_ladillos_3_0

The teacher who sits beside me in Kolkata is Octavio Paz, not Vasishta! Paz in a few scattered words speaks the unspoken, conveys volumes that cannot be written, tickles my intellect and allows me to rest between the blooming spaces of his poems. Here are some examples from “East Slope”:

WRITING

I draw these letters

as the day draws its images

and blows over them

and does not return.

 

A WHERE WITHOUT A WHO

There’s not

a soul among these trees

And I

don’t know where I’ve gone.

 

…………………………………………………………………………………………………

I am with my grandmother and I am not with her. She’s dozing. As I write this she opens her eyes a crack and asks for the newspapers. She is silent. The morning light falls on her shining (well creamed) face. She looks like a yogi reposing. When I ask her what she’s thinking, she ruins the image with her mundane words, “I’m wondering why Kalyani (the Day Nurse) has not come today.”

I wish she had given me some other answer that would allow me to elevate her. Still I never lose hope. Every moment is precious, contains infinite possibilities. Transformation can happen in a second, with just one thought or perhaps no thought. It’s all so mysterious. If she lives for another one and a half years she will turn 90. The mantle of Death hovers around her. A bee smitten by the fragrance of an over-sweet flower.

When she’s silent she disappears. Timelessness engulfs her. The moment she cries, whimpers and complains she attracts him to her. He draws closer, hungry for an embrace, eager to alleviate her distress, ready to snuff out that last, breathing, moving ray of light.

If she’s wise she will know this is how it works. Surrender is all I can pray for her. Sooner or later he will come. She cannot resist or avoid him. Be still as a rock and calm as a yogi. Death is really not scary.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………

poem

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

