Anchored

Presence-of-Absence-1-650x487
Your absence evokes your presence, more poignant than when your breathing form stands before me.

Your very absence calls out to me, and stirs me into wakefulness.

Your absence tugs at me, says, “Here, look at me, think of me, feel me as I am!”

In your presence I shrug my shoulders and walk past. But your absence will not let me walk away so easily.

I sit, lie, stand, walk, talk – anchored to your absence…lingering on the memory of your presence.

In your absence I am alert to your existence – ready to hold you and keep you close beside me.

Your absence follows me like a shadow everywhere.

And when it is dark and the lights are off, suddenly, out of nowhere, your absence visits me once again.

Leave a Reply

