Ganesha, my Friend

photo (1)

There he sits or rather lounges on my desk. Eyes never meeting mine, gaze spiraling dreamily upwards. Is it an attempt to taunt or tease me?

He’s such a player!

While he lolls about, I work. Or pretend to. He knows me. If he’s good at playing, I play too. But truly I’m quite sincere (I can hear him remonstrate, “But, I’m sincere too!), although I love to have it easy, and what I love best is to do –

nothing at all…

except dream…

and watch the clouds pass,

and the trees sway,

the sun rise and set and paint the canvas of the sky,

intensely – red, yellow & ultramarine.

and think of nothing at all,

except Krishna, whose long, full eyes drown everything

and my death which I look forward to.

That’s why I say – he taunts me…

He listens to my prayer before I begin, every morning.

Quite sincerely I pray – a prayer that goes something like this:

“God, may I be like you. May I merge into you. Please write for me. May my life pass effortlessly and my work be free of obstacles. If there are mistakes, may others not care and if they do notice, may they be compassionate.

God, may I have all the time in the world to contemplate Divinity and realize the Self. And sing your glory, abundantly!

And if, by any chance it doesn’t happen, still, take me into your fold, make me in your mold.

Let me merge in Thee!”

My friend, Ganesha, mysteriously smiles and says nothing at all.

And still I feel reassured. He pretends at innocence and yet He knows Everything!

He pretends to do nothing, yet He does everything, behind the scenes, when no one’s looking.

In Him I see my Guru, in my Guru I see Him.

Jai Gurudeva, Jai Ganesha!

Art of Living International Ashram invites you to Ganesh Chaturthi Celebrations

(Elephant headed Ganesha, also known as Ganapati & Vinayaka, is widely revered among Hindus as the remover of obstacles, the patron of arts and sciences and the God of intellect and wisdom. As the god of beginnings, he is honored at the start of rituals and ceremonies. Ganesha is also invoked as patron of letters and learning during writing sessions.)

2 thoughts on “Ganesha, my Friend

Leave a Reply

