Before You Fall A Hand Is There!

S4-Mucha-001-Reverie-Detail

If Bhakti is the seed, Gyan is the fruit.” This sentence created a slow unfurling awakening in my brain. My eyes briefly fluttered open, drank in the speaker and the words, and closed.

If Bhakti is the seed, Gyan is the fruit.

In Life we come across certain sentences or words that stir us, shake us, wake us. This was one of them. I was sitting in a session on Gyan Yoga and Swami Vishnupad ji was speaking. And just listening to his voice had taken me to a state of Samadhi. I was there and not there. I could hear every word he spoke, yet I was in a quiet, tranquil state akin to the feeling of being “knocked out”. And I had no wish to stir or come out.

But that sentence did something. As soon as I heard it I felt a bell ring in my head…It was so true! I realise more and more the importance of Wisdom in my life. It is vital for my functioning in the world. I feel I have nothing else to help me. No other crutch to help me manouever in the confusing tug and pull of the mind. For everthing does begin in the mind. The world takes shape and makes sense in the mind. The mind imbues meaning to what we see, hear, touch, feel and smell. The mind interprets the stimuli received by the 5 sense organs.

Some years ago I was in a strong current of Bhakti, and I believed that Love for the Divine is all that matters. It does. There is nothing but God. Yet on another level, living in the world, one has to make decisions, who does one turn to help? I would say Wisdom. Through wisdom we reach God. Wisdom is God’s guidance to help humanity – to answer questions like “What is the best thing for me to do?”, ‘Whose company should I keep, whom should I avoid, if I am to avoid anyone at all?”, “What is the purpose of my life?”

When it comes to love and relationships – Divine and worldly – I turn to Gurudev Sri Sri Ravi Shankar’s commentary on Narada Bhakti Sutras or when I feel I’m getting off-balanced, I regain my cool with Ashtavakra Gita (again, there’s nothing like Sri Sri Ravi Shankar’s interpretation!). Another great book to increase your dispassion & take you through the mystic realm of sub-worlds is Yoga Vashishta. Feel your discipline slacken? Pick up Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras.

And for all the other small and big matters that may be pinching and poking you through your beautiful journey….there’s always Satsang with Sri Sri Ravi Shankar!

Even if you lack the gall to pick up the mike and ask the question before a thousand plus audience, Gurudev has read your question, understood your discomfort and begins to answer your question in the most natural manner! You feel ‘saved’ , because although the thousand plus congregation heard the answer, they don’t know you asked it!

Sri Sri Ravi Shankar has said that Gyan, Bhakti and Seva are interconnected. If you have any one, the other two will follow automatically! So beautiful and reassuring, isn’t it?

Wisdom brings such a great sense of safety, security, confidence & contentment. It erases all fears. Including the fear of death, the primary fear or mother fear from which all other fears spring! Gyan takes you back to your Self, to your joyful, untouched and unblemished state.

If you feel yourself scattered, shaken and broken… have faith. There are so many beautiful talks by Sri Sri Ravi Shankar to select from that will reassuringly and most definitely take you back to your core of love and peace. Have faith that the right wisdom will reach you at the right time, at the moment of your greatest need.

Before you can even fall, a hand is there to hold you up.

enhanced-22099-1433152081-1

Leave a Reply

